Republican Senators push constitutional amendment to stop court-packing

Republican senators are pushing forward a constitutional amendment that mandates the Supreme Court only has nine justices, The Hill is reporting.

Sens. Ted Cruz (TX), Thom Tillis (NC), Martha McSally (AZ), Roger Wicker (MS), Kelly Loeffler (GA), and Cindy Hydesmith (MS) all signed onto the amendment.

The move comes as former Vice President and 2020 Democratic nominee for president Joe Biden refuses to answer whether he would “pack the court,” meaning add more than the traditional nine justices.

With the passing of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg and President Donald Trump’s subsequent nomination of Judge Amy Coney Barrett to the Supreme Court, the question remains whether Biden would add to the court or accept the expected confirmation of Judge Barrett.